• sense clinically
  • think mechanistically
  • act interdisciplinarily
  • treat innovatively

Prof. Dr. med. Björn Chapuy

Department of Hematology, Oncology and Tumorimmunology
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Campus Benjamin Franklin
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin

Berlin Institute of Health
Anna-Louisa-Karsch-Str. 2
10178 Berlin


Speaker of Aggressive Lymphoma Working Group

German Lymphoma Alliance


Fon: +49 (0) 30 450 613423

Email: bjoern.chapuy(at)charite.de

Webpage: https://go.umg.eu/ag-chapuy





Scientific Scope

Our translational research group focuses on the molecular characterization of aggressive B-cell lymphomas, including the most common form of lymph node cancer, Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma (DLBCL), and other Large B-cell Lymphomas (LBCLs) such as Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma (PCNSL), Primary Testicular Lymphoma (PTL), Primary Mediastinal Large B-cell Lymphoma (PBML) and Classical Hodgkin Lymphoma (cHL). 

Using genome-wide tools, such as applied (epi)genomics and integrated multi-omics in primary tissue and functional screens in informative model systems, we dissect molecular heterogeneity to identify actionable alterations and exploit novel cancer cell dependencies with the eventual goal to personalize treatment for lymphoma patients. Specifically, through integrative and comparative genomics, we identify unique genetic signatures and associated survival pathways for discrete LBCL subtypes, which are then modeled in vitro and in vivo to develop rational targets, novel biomarkers and novel clinical avenues in form of clincal trials.

Please find more details here: https://go.umg.eu/ag-chapuy


Name and Position of Group Members

Most important Awards, Grants or Scientific Achievements

  • Speaker, Aggressive Lymphoma Working Group, GLA
  • Member, Program Committee Aggressive Lymphoma, German Society of Hematology and Oncology (DGHO)
  • Managing Board and Member of the SFB1530
  • Oncology Award, Gilead Sciences
  • Medical Oncology Translational Award, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School
  • Claudia Adams Barr Award for Basic Cancer Research
  • American Society of Hematology Achievement Award 2012-2015 (each year)

Selected References